Historic photographs have been part of the Richmond Hill Public Library’s collection since the creation of the Local History Room in the 1970s . As a celebration for Canada’s 150th Birthday, we will be showcasing these “throwback” photos of a historical Richmond Hill. See for yourself the rich history of our wonderful riding, and make sure to check back every week for more photos!
The photographs below showcase Richmond Hill from a period where Richmond Hill was referred to as the “sleepy village.” All credit goes to the wonderful staff at the Richmond Hill Library for providing us with these photos.
This photo was from the tower of the Presbyterian Church, circa 1900, looking north up Yonge Street, with the spire of the Methodist Church in the centre.
The photo above showcases the The P.G. Savage Store which was established sometimes in the 1870s.
This photo showcases Bond Lake Hotel and Stables. The lake still exists today, and can be found Oak Ridges Corridor Park trail.
An aerial view of the Richmond Hill Spring Fair in 1900 is captured here. This fair was organized by the Richmond Hill and Yonge Street Agricultural Society, founded in 1849. They organized the first Richmond Hill spring fair, held on May 24, 1849. The last spring fair in Richmond Hill was held in 1996.
A shot of hardworking employees in Richmond Hill’s Bond Lake Power Station, circa 1900. Fashion may have surely changed, but the hard work of the people of Richmond Hill remains strong.
Tom Shepard’s farm on the north half of lot 49 on the west side of Yonge St. It was located just north of the present-day Richmond Heights Plaza.
East of Richmond Hill, on present-day Leslie Street just south of Major Mackenzie Drive, the settlement of Headford, or Headford Mills, owed its mid-century prosperity to mill sites rather than Yonge Street travellers. Here is a wonderful shot of a bridge that crossed over into the old Headford Mill.
Old Dominion Hotel building- the hotel was located on the east side of Yonge, a short distance north of Markham Road (Major Mackenzie Drive). The photos displayed are circa 1940s.
8825 Bathurst St. after new renovations, circa 1940.
A farmhouse and barn in the 1940s. The farm was located on the north side of Langstaff Rd. between Yonge St. and Bathurst St, circa 1940.
Sheep grazing by Patterson pond, circa-1940.
Employees in front of Archibald Wright’s carriage and undertaking business on the west side of Yonge Street (present-day site of Marshall Funeral Home) sometime in the 1880s.
Richmond Hill High School in its 1897 building at Yonge and Wright streets, later part of the municipal building of the Town of Richmond Hill.
. It has, since 1912, offered a challenging Stanley Thompson designed course that weaves through the most beautiful natural environment.
A photograph of the east side of Yonge Street north of Centre Street. The buildings shown in the photo are the United Church, Dominion Telegraph and the Sanderson home, circa 1930s.
A photograph of the train wreck in Richmond Hill, Easter 1936.
First freight at the new Richmond Hill station in November 1906 – a load of coal and lumber.
A postcard of the Presbyterian Church with a post-mark of 1907 on the reverse.
Following the fire, Crosby rebuilt and renamed his emporium the Fire Proof Store – known to succeeding generations of village shoppers simply as “The Fire Proof.” Here the store is shown bearing the name of his son and successor, Isaac Crosby, circa 1880s.
Boarding Metropolitan Car 56 at the Richmond Hill station,Yonge Street and Lorne Avenue.
A photograph of a snowshoe party in Richmond Hill on Vaughan Sideroad (today’s Major Mackenzie Drive) west of Yonge Street, 1918.
Looking west along Carrville Road in the nineteenth century.
F. J. Woodward’s blacksmith shop at Elgin Mills, with the Glass butcher wagon on the right, circa 1900s.
Howard Park Methodist Church, Toronto, at their Sunday School Picnic at Bond Lake in 1914.